Winners of the 17th FAI Paragliding World Championships

The 17th FAI Paragliding World Championships were held in Loma Bola, Tucuman, Argentina from October 31 to November 13, 2021. It was a complicated business that this competition took place. FAI CIVL Steward Igor Erzen comments: “The organizer has behaved very well, to be able to ensure that every pilot has the chance to come and enjoy the scenery and the hospitality of the Yerba region. Buena and Tucuman. easier and the organizer had to overcome a lot of obstacles to get there. In the end, they managed to get 6 scored tasks and new champions were crowned. ”Jamie Shelden, FAI CIVL Jury President, added:“ We are delighted to conclude great World Championships here in Tucuman, Argentina. many additional loads due to COVID and despite a very short preparation time we had six tasks, crowned the world champion and the pilots seemed to enjoy the event “. 150 pilots from 37 nations came to compete in Tucuman, Argentina.

A total of 7 tasks were completed, 1 task was canceled due to a protest and in the remaining 6 4 ended up with 39 to 111 pilots at Goal. Considering from the start everyone knew the conditions would be weak and the game would be ready for survival, the result even exceeded expectations. However, good drivers won even in bad conditions and we see that the top of the overall standings are occupied by the best drivers in the WPRS standings – so skill and teamwork decide everything.

For the first time in the history of paragliding, the UK team becomes world champion. And the title of world champion goes to Russel Ogden (GBR), so the British pilot is crowned world champion after a break of 14 years – Bruce Goldsmith was champion in 2007. Ogden and Bruce are both paraglider manufacturers ( Ozone and BGD). Throughout this competition, Russel Ogden showed an exceptional result by winning 4 tasks out of 6. The third place also belongs to the player of the Ozone team – Luc Armant (FRA) and the second to Honorin Hamard (World Champion 2015 ).

In addition, for the first time in history, the title of women’s world champion goes to Switzerland – Yael Margelish who was second at the previous world championships did not reach the top leaving behind the double world champion Seiko. Fukuoka (FRA) and once world champion Klaudia Bulgakov (POL). Congratulations to the winners! “


1: Russell OGDEN (GBR) (link to interview)

2: Honorin HAMARD (FRA)



1: Yael MARGELISCH (SUI) (link to the interview)

2: Seiko FUKUOKA (FRA)

3: Klaudia BULGAKOW (POL)


1: United Kingdom

2: Switzerland

3: Czech Republic

Photo above.

Photo credits: Ulrich Jessop.

Competition website with task reports and main links

Congratulations to the organizers and the team who worked on making this event happen:

Event organizer: Matias Fortini
Director: Sergio Bujazha
Security Director: Mario Sueldo
Rescue: Bomberos Voluntarios de Yerba Buena / Policía de Tucumán
Live Tracking Coordinator, Daily Reports & Live Commentary: Ruth Jessop
Security and recovery: Evaristo Bujazha
Weather forecast: Eduardo Sánchez Granel
Transport and recovery: Sebastián Malizia
Scorer: Ulric Jessop
Headquarters coordinator: Matias Llanos
Take-off marshal: Mercedes Gijón
Goal marshal: Jorge Arcuri
Covid Protocol: Dr Marcelo López Avellaneda / SIPROSA
Public relations and press: María Lobo Murga
Photographs, Videos: Tom Ceunen
Social events and ceremonies: Noelia Soria
FAI CIVL media coverage: Elena Filonova

FAI CIVL Commissioner: Igor Eržen (SLO)

Jamie Ranae Shelden (United States) – President of the Jury
Ivan Lukanov (MKD): – member of the jury on site
Andy Cowley, Goran Dimiskovsky, St̩phane Malbos (FRA) Рremote Jury members

Comments are closed.