Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 FAI Awards


The announcement of the 2021 FAI Awards took place on Tuesday, November 9, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. UTC in an online video that was broadcast live.

In the video, which premiered on the FAI website, YouTube channel and Facebook page, a tribute was paid to the many individuals and groups who have performed exceptionally well, contributed to the development of aeronautics. and astronautics and created a lasting legacy through the promotion of air sports to new participants.

See the video

Manuel Roca Viaña of Spain is the recipient of this year’s FAI Silver Medal, awarded for his contribution to the promotion of international air sports competition through many years of distinguished service and dedicated leadership within of the RFAE (Royal Spanish Aeronautics Federation). He commented:

“This recognition is a great honor for me, and I will always wear it with the greatest enthusiasm. This award fills me with joy; it is a boost in morale that renews and encourages, both at the personal and institutional level, my enthusiasm and my wish to continue to bring ideas, knowledge and experience that can serve the interest of the international development of the aeronautics.

Lionel Adroit of France, winner of this year’s Henri Miguet Diploma for his amateur-built aircraft, the Handi-Montgolfière said:

“The Henri Miguet Diploma is for me an honor, one of the most important recognition that an amateur aircraft manufacturer can receive for the research, creation and construction of an aircraft.

Kimberly Magee of the United States, winner of the Ballooning Balloon Diploma for Best Ballooning Performance, shared the following statement:

“It is an honor to be recognized by a Montgolfier diploma. I am grateful to be one of eight American women pilots to win the world’s greatest hot air balloon honor. I hope my adventures in breaking six world records and nine national records at 28 will allow other young female pilots to embark on similar challenges, to push to new heights never reached before.

Montgolfier Balloon Diploma Laureate, Kimberly Magee

FAI President David Monks congratulated this year’s winners:

“Our 2021 laureates have made it their mission to share the pleasure of flying with others, either by pushing the limits of their sport, or by contributing to the promotion and development of aeronautics or astronautics.

At FAI, one of our most important roles is to recognize these exceptional performances and the exceptional efforts of individuals and groups, who are all a part of the history, present and future of aviation. .

Congratulations to all of the winners tonight and thank you all for sharing your dedication and passion with the world. “


FAI Silver Medal
Manuel ROCA VIAÑA (Spain)

Honorary Diplomas from the FAI Group

  • Sport Aviation Federation (Australia)
  • Aeroklub Jaroměř (Czech Republic)
  • Aero Club Ćuprija (Serbia)
  • Department of Aeronautical and Aeronautical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Hong Kong, China)

FAI Diploma Paul Tissandier

  • Miguel Angel TERZO from Argentina
  • Ruth WILSON from Australia
  • Graeme HENDERSON from Australia
  • Bernhard REIF from Austria
  • Jacques BERLO from Belgium
  • Dan COOK from Canada
  • Eugenio MARTINEZ from Chile
  • Jiří UNZEITIG from Czech Republic
  • Miloš RAMERT from Czech Republic
  • Kimmo PAULARANTA from Finland
  • Christian RAVEL from France
  • Joachim LENK from Germany
  • Vasilis KATINIOTIS from Greece
  • Paul GIANNIOTIS from Hong Kong, China
  • Sushil BAJPAI from India
  • Pietro FILIPPINI from Italy
  • Flavio TEBALDI from Italy
  • Daiju KOHGA from Japan
  • Kyung Yong CHOI from Korea
  • Moon Tae KIM from Korea
  • Alan BEARD from New Zealand
  • Ian BEGBIE from New Zealand
  • Alexandre BESSONOV from Russia
  • Anatolii ULANOV from Russia
  • Vladimir MITIN from Russia
  • Nikola BOROVAC from Serbia
  • Bengt STENER from Sweden
  • Henry LINDHOLM from Sweden
  • Pekka HAVBRANDT from Sweden
  • Charles BACHMANN from Switzerland
  • Bruno SCHERRER from Switzerland
  • Daniela SCHMITTER from Switzerland
  • Matthew BOLSHAW from UK
  • Peggy RIEDINGER from USA

FAI awards for individual disciplines

Balloon Balloon Diplomas:
Best balloon performance: Krysztof ZAPART (Poland) and Andy CAYTON (USA)
Best Hot Air Balloon Performance: Kimberly MAGEE (USA)

Lilienthal Gliding Medal
Eric MOZER (United States)

Leonardo da Vinci Parachuting Diploma
Rina GALLO (Canada)

FAI Parachuting Gold Medal
Julia ANGELOVA (Bulgaria)

FAI Gold Medal in Model Aircraft
Bogdan WIERZBA (Poland)

Alphonse Pénaud Aeromodelling Diploma
Matthew HOYLAND (United Kingdom)

Antonov Aeromodelling Diploma
Karl-Heinz HELLING (Germany)

Frank Ehling Diploma
Mike COLLING (Sweden)

Ann Welch’s diplomas
Paramotor – Krzysztof ROMICKI and Wojciech STRZYZAKOWSKI (Poland)
ULM – Colin FARGHER and Louis FARGHER (France)

FAI Rotorcraft Gold Medal
David MONKS (United Kingdom)

Leon Biancotto aerobatic diploma
Alan CASSIDY (United Kingdom)

Henri Mignet Diploma
Lionel ADROIT (France)

More information

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.